Documents to download

5G networks are technologically different to previous mobile networks in several ways, including the use of: new radio spectrum frequencies, new and upgraded mobile base stations (which connect devices such as smartphones to the rest of the telecommunications network) and new software techniques to help control and manage telecoms traffic more effectively. 5G will initially be rolled out on existing base station sites, which will be upgraded to operate using the new radio spectrum allocated for 5G. In the longer term, 5G may require deployment of a greater number of ‘small cells’ (small, low power base stations), in areas with a high demand for mobile broadband.

The government has said it wants the UK to be a global leader in 5G and, in its 2018 Future Telecoms Infrastructure Review, announced its ambition for the “majority of the UK” to have 5G mobile coverage by 2027. Work is ongoing across industry and government in the UK to develop 5G mobile networks and to trial 5G in other sectors. The UK’s four mobile network operators have carried out trials of 5G technology and EE and Vodafone have recently launched commercial 5G networks in parts of several UK cities.

This POSTbrief provides a technical overview of 5G technology, including the radio spectrum, infrastructure and software it is expected to use. It discusses the application of 5G in mobile broadband and its potential applications in other sectors such as healthcare and transport. It provides an overview of some of the main challenges for the implementation of 5G and gives a general overview of global developments.


POSTbriefs are responsive policy briefings from the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology. This POSTbrief is based on a literature review, interviews with external stakeholders and peer review. POST would like to thank interviewees and peer reviewers for kindly giving up their time during the preparation of this briefing, including:

  • Broadband Stakeholder Group*
  • CityFibre*
  • Dave Happy – Telint*
  • Department for Digital Culture Media and Sport*
  • Dr Mike Short – Department for International Trade*
  • EE*
  • European Telecommunications Standards Institute*
  • Julian McGougan – techUK*
  • Lorenzo Casaccia – Qualcomm*
  • National Physical Laboratory*
  • O2*
  • Ofcom*
  • Professor Mischa Dohler – King’s College London*
  • Professor Rahim Tafazolli – University of Surrey
  • Professor Will Stewart – Institution of Engineering and Technology*
  • Professor William Webb – Institution of Engineering and Technology*
  • Sergio Buonomo – International Telecoms Union*
  • Sylvia Lu – u-blox*
  • Three*
  • Vodafone*

Documents to download

Related posts

  • Sustainable land management: managing land better for environmental benefits

    England is at a historical crossroad for the governance of land and the natural environment. Actions for addressing and adapting to climate change, achieving food security and tackling the biodiversity crisis are all embedded in and depend on how land is managed. Existing Government policy and targets have so far failed to address many of these complexities of land, farming and the natural environment.

    Sustainable land management: managing land better for environmental benefits
  • Smart Cities

    "Smart cities" describes places that incorporate a range of technologies (especially those that collect and use data) to address economic, social, and environmental challenges. Projects usually take place in urban areas, but are also deployed in rural settings. This POSTnote looks at smart city innovation in the UK and the technologies involved. It considers the factors driving the adoption of smart city technologies, and the potential benefits, barriers and risks associated with their implementation.

    Smart Cities
  • Energy sector digitalisation

    The incorporation of digital technologies in the energy sector can support progress towards key UK objectives such as achieving Net Zero emissions targets. It can also transform current methods of energy generation, transmission, regulation, and trading. This POSTnote presents an overview of key digital technologies and their main applications in the energy sector. It provides an overview of the potential benefits to using these technologies, and recent developments in this area. It describes the role of data in underpinning digital technologies in the sector, and some of the issues raised by its use. It also discusses broader challenges associated with energy sector digitalisation and measures that could help address them, including issues related to technology, regulation, and impact on consumers.

    Energy sector digitalisation